Training & Pacing

Marathon & Half Marathon Training Run/Walks

PaceSetters-Blue

 

In conjunction with the PaceSetters Running Club and hosted by Run Away Shoes, the Marathon and Half Marathon Training Runs & Walks take place every Saturday morning at 7:00 a.m. starting on May 26 and running through September 15.

RunAwayShoes

 

 

Start & Finish Location: Run Away Shoes

W3192 County Road KK, Appleton

Directions to Run Away Shoes

Training Run/Walk Provided:

  • Free and open to the public!
  • Mapped routes, turn-by-turn directions
  • Routes include sections along the FCM course
  • Water & Gatorade support along the course for a 13:30 pace
  • Snacks, coffee, water & Gatorade at the finish
  • ThedaCare Orthopedics Plus PT’s on site to answer your questions
  • A safe and runner/walker friendly course
  • Knowledgeable PaceSetters Running Club and Fox Cities Marathon Staff present to answer any questions regarding training, registration, etc.

 

TC H CMYK Master

 

 

ThedaCare Orthopedics has gone the extra mile for you again this year in developing a Training Guide for Marathon and Half Marathon participants.  Not only will this plan help you prepare for your race, but it does so in a day-by-day format that is manageable in your busy schedule.  FREE weekly injury assessment and tips & pointers are all included!  The 2018 ThedaCare Training Guide is here – get started today!

 

2018 Training Run & Walk Schedule

See below for the 2018 training run schedule dates and distances. For additional information, including links to maps and directions for each week’s training route, please go to the PaceSetters Running Club website.

For any Saturday morning where there might be inclement weather – or the possibility of it – please visit the PaceSetters of the Fox Cities Facebook page for updates.

Date Marathon Distance Half Marathon Distance
May 26 8 4
Saucony Test Run Saucony Test Run
June 2 9 4
June 9 6 5
June 16  11 6
Physical Therapists available after training runs starting June 16
June 23  12 5
June 30 9 7
Brooks Test Run/GU samples Brooks Test Run/GU samples
July 7  14 7.5
July 14  15 8
July 21 13.1 6.2
Prediction Run – Neenah Prediction Run – Neenah
July 28  17 8
August 4  18 10
August 11  13 8
August 18 20 10
August 25  12 6
September 1  20 11
September 8  12 7
September 15 8 5
September 23  Community First Fox Cities Marathon ThedaCare Half Marathon

 


Marathon & Half Marathon Pace Teams

The Community First Fox Cities Marathon, in partnership with OnPace Race, offers Pace Teams that help participants reach their race-day goals in both the full and half marathons.

  • Participation is FREE for both Full & Half Marathon Pace Teams
  • Register at the On Pace Race booth during the Health & Wellness Expo
  • Participants will receive information, be able to ask questions and meet some of the Pace Team leaders prior to race-day
  • For a list of FAQ’s to your basic Pace Team questions, please visit: Pace Team FAQ’s

Pace Team Leaders: If you are interested in helping your fellow participants reach their race-day goals in either the full or half marathon, please contact Jesse Drake, Executive Race Director at jesse.drake@communityfirstcu.org

MARATHON Pace Teams:

The FCM will provide group leaders to assist runners in achieving their goal time for the Marathon. Please feel free to contact the pacers directly if you have any questions regarding their pacing techniques prior to race weekend. Target times will be the following:

Pacing Leader Race Time Contact E-mail
Tim Kowols
Trey Horbinski
3:20 Tim: kowotd27@gmail.com
Trey: treyhorbins@gmail.com
Michael Suer
Ryan Peterson
3:30 Michael:  michaeljsuer@gmail.com
Ryan: rpeterson08@gmail.com
 Jeff Picken
Chad Koch
3:40 Jeff: jdpicken@sbcglobal.net
Chad: Chad.koch@gmail.com
 Chad Otis
Laura Brunner
3:50 Chad: chotis729@gmail.com
Laura: laura.brunner@kcc.com
Shannon McFarland
Barry Thrune
4:00 Shannon: bjthrune@scj.com
Barry: bjthrune@scj.com
 Jessica LeMere
Christian Holzheu
4:15 Jessica:  firedancer1974@gmail.com
Christian:  chrisholzheu@gmail.com
 Jeri Howey
Daniel Johnston
4:30 Jeri: jerihowey@yahoo.com
Daniel: Daniel.Johnston@foth.com
 Mike Jovanovich
Terra Otis
4:45 Mike: Mike.jovanovich@gmail.com
Terra: terra614@gmail.com
 Tom Perri
Kimberly Huntly
5:00 Tom: tmperri@juno.com
Kimberly: kimberly_huntley@hotmail.com
 DJ Rein
Paul Miller
5:30 DJ: dj43gb@yahoo.com
Paul: pmiller@entrision.com
Mary Moran NEW!
6:00
Mary: mary.p.moran@gmail.com

HALF MARATHON Pacing Teams:

The FCM will provide group leaders to assist runners in achieving their goal time for the Half Marathon. Please feel free to contact the pacers directly if you have any questions regarding their pacing techniques prior to race weekend. Target times will be the following:

Pacing Leader Race Time Contact E-mail
Jordan Neeck
Adam Johnson
NEW! 1:30 Jordan: jordan.neeck@snc.edu
Adam: Eh.es.jay@gmail.com
Katie Herald
Mike James
1:40 Katie: kherald13@gmail.com
Mike: Mjjames@new.rr.com
 Stephanie Kliethermes
Joey Cleaves
1:50 Stephanie: stephanie.kliethermes@gmail.com
Joey: jjcleaves@live.com
 Marty Thomas
Ron DuVernay
2:00 Marty: wreststuds@aol.com
Ron: bilronn@gmail.com
 Aaron Hizon
Katie Houle
2:10 Aaron: aaronhizon@gmail.com
Katie:  katiehoule@gmail.com
 Bethany Schumacher
Jackie Kohlhagen
2:20 Bethany:  bethanyschumacher@gmail.com
Jackie:  jackiekohlhagen@yahoo.com
 Steve Weick
Paula Walker
2:30 Steve: sbweick@gmail.com
Paula: mgpjwalker@yahoo.com
 Kayla Glenn
Paula Meyer
2:40 Kayla: kaylaglenn30@gmail.com
Paula: meyerpaula84@gmail.com

For any pre-race weekend questions, please contact Jesse Drake, Fox Cities Marathon Executive Race Director at: jesse.drake@communityfirstcu.org